Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Northwest Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Roseau Public Library OKO (Text) 35500006465320 New Available -
Crookston Public Library SF OKO (Text) 33500013340666 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library SF OKO (Text) 33500013340674 New Checked out 06/26/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250772800
  • ISBN: 125077280X
  • Physical Description: 159 pages ; 21 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Tordotcom, 2021.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"A Tom Doherty Associates book"--Title page.
Summary, etc.:
"The day Fatima forgot her name, Death paid a visit. From here on in she would be known as Sankofa--a name that meant nothing to anyone but her, the only tie to her family and her past. Her touch is death, and with a glance a town can fall. And she walks--alone, except for her fox companion--searching for the object that came from the sky and gave itself to her when the meteors fell and when she was yet unchanged; searching for answers. But is there a greater purpose for Sankofa, now that Death is her constant companion?"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 November #1
    Okorafor's latest (after the YA fantasy Ikenga, 2020) blends plant-based science fiction with a fairy tale-like narrative. Sankofa, a girl who has forgotten her name, finds a mysterious seed that gives her deadly powers. Far from making her a superhero, her talents cause fear and awe to follow in her wake. What happens when magic is more of a curse than a blessing? Will the search for answers provide closure, or make her life even more dangerous? Sankofa is an engaging character and despite her strange circumstances, she is practical and driven forward by a strong sense of right and wrong. Tense moments of conflict are followed by gentler vignettes where she gets to know the people and the world around her. Sankofa's path through Ghana covers both the mundane and the futuristic, and Okorafor examines what happens when normal people meet someone or something they do not understand. Great for speculative fiction devotees that are seeking a non-Eurocentric setting and an unusual but engrossing protagonist. This bildungsroman is perfect for fans of Nalo Hopkinson's Midnight Robber (2000) or Naomi Novik's Uprooted (2015). Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Nnedi Okorafor, born to Igbo Nigerian parents in Cincinnati, Ohio on April 8, 1974, is an author of fantasy and science fiction for both adults and younger readers. Her children's book Long Juju Man won the 2007-08 Macmillan Writer's Prize for Africa, and her adult novel Who Fears Death was a Tiptree Honor Book. She is an associate professor of creative writing and literature at the University at Buffalo.

Subject: Death > Fiction.
Alien artifacts > Fiction.
Human-animal communication > Fiction.
Magic > Fiction.
Memory > Fiction.
Young women > Fiction.
Ghana > Fiction.
Genre: Science fiction.
Afrofuturist fiction.
Science fiction.

Additional Resources