Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Scrublands / Chris Hammer.

Hammer, Chris, 1960- author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Northwest Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Warroad Public Library HAM (Text) 35500006126385 New Checked out 03/30/2019
Climax Public Library HAM (Text) 33500012840294 New Available -
Detroit Lakes Public Library HAM (Text) 33500012840286 New Checked out 04/02/2019

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781501196744
  • ISBN: 150119674X
  • ISBN: 9781501196751
  • ISBN: 1501196758
  • Physical Description: 368 pages : map ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atria, 2019.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall, a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller. In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom--that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin's own newspaper--may be wrong. Just as Martin believes he's making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers--missing since the time of the church shootings--are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. What was the real reason behind the priest's shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town's dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him. For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively readable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last page"-- Provided by publisher.
Welcome to Riversend, an isolated Australian community afflicted by an endless drought. A young priest kills five parishioners before being taken down himself. The story is that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives to describe how the townspeople are coping with the anniversary. When the bodies of two German backpackers-- missing since the time of the church shootings-- are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. Uncovering the town's dark secrets will put his job, his mental state, and his life at risk. -- adapted from publisher info
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 November #2
    A novel's opening moments are there to rivet readers' attention; this one begins with a dazzler. A parish priest stands outside his little church in the heat-soaked Australian scrublands on a Sunday morning, chatting with parishioners. He steps inside for a moment, comes back with a rifle and blows away five members of his congregation. Readers who turn pages anxious for understanding will have to wait. Instead, the narrative picks up a year later, as reporter Martin Scarsden visits the dusty, dying town where the murders took place. He's not there to investigate the still-unsolved crime but to write about how everybody is holding up. His poking about reveals a hidden marijuana farm, a plot to steal water, and a murder tricked up to look like suicide, with only occasional references to the slaughter that started the novel. This story is a mix of beautiful writing and a maddeningly slow, overly complex plot. Still, we're hooked. Who is this priest who can put a bullet through a man's neck at a hundred yards? Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Mass murder > Fiction.
Droughts > Fiction.
Sparsely populated areas > Fiction.
Journalists > Fiction.
Murder > Investigation > Fiction.
Australia > Fiction.
FICTION / Suspense.
FICTION / Thrillers.
SUSPENSE.
Genre: Suspense fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)

Additional Resources